Wisconsin Concealed Carry – Everything you Need to Know

Posted: November 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

Below we’ve attempted to answer every question you may have about Wisconsin’s new concealed carry law. Please email us at contact@mylegalheat.com if you can’t find your answer here. Enjoy!

  • I already took your class, what do I need to know?
  • What is this law about?
For the first time in over 100 years Wisconsin residents are now allowed to carry a concealed firearm for self-defense. This is a BIG deal and something we’ve waited a very long time for.
  • Do I need a Wisconsin permit to carry in Wisconsin?

This depends on where you live. If you live in Wisconsin the ONLY WAY you can carry a concealed firearm is by obtaining a Wisconsin concealed permit (even if you have multiple other permits). If you live outside Wisconsin, the following state permits are currently recognized in Wisconsin: Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands. If you have a permit from one of these states you can now carry in Wisconsin.

Wisconsin does not issue permits to non-residents.

  • How do I get a Wisconsin permit?
That’s easy, you attend any Legal Heat class taught within the state of Wisconsin. In order to obtain the permit you MUST have training. The training must be at least 4 hours in duration (our classes are just over 4 hours) and must be taught by a certified instructor (like our instructors). Although it is true that you can submit a hunter’s safety certification to prove you’ve completed your training, we HIGHLY recommend you attend a class. This is a new, and fairly complicated law, you need to understand it. All Legal Heat instructors teaching in Wisconsin are attorneys, don’t trust your legal education to anyone else.
  • How do I obtain a Wisconsin application?
  • What states will a Wisconsin permit allow me to carry in?

It’s unknown at the moment, but the below 13 states will very likely recognize the WI permit in the near future: Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Missouri, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont.

  • What places are off limits to carry in Wisconsin?
  1. Any portion of a building that is a police station, sheriff’s office, state patrol station, or the office of a division of criminal investigation special agent of the department.
  2. Any portion of a building that is a prison, jail, house of correction, or secured correctional facility.
  3. The facility established under s. 46.055 [secure mental health facility for sexually violent persons].
  4. The center established under s. 46.056 [Wisconsin Resource Center].
  5. Any secured unit or secured portion of a mental health institute under s. 51.05, including a facility designated as the Maximum Security Facility at Mendota Mental Health Institute.
  6. Any portion of a building that is a county, state, or federal courthouse. 7. Any portion of a building that is a municipal courtroom if court is in session. 8. A place beyond a security checkpoint in an airport.
  7. Any building that has a sign posted prohibiting carry (there are several nuances to these restrictions, but the general rule to live by is if you see a sign on a building, don’t carry in that building).
  • Where can I take a class? 
Please see the courses page of our website for a list of our current class offerings.
  • How does this affect hunting?
  • Where can I find more information
Advertisements
Comments
  1. JP Heim says:

    In the post above regarding other states permits being recognized in WI, there official FAQ page does not list any other permits by name, only that:

    “In addition, DOJ ―may enter into reciprocity agreements with other states as to matters relating to licenses or other authorization to carry concealed weapons.‖ Wis. Stat. § 175.60(18). If such agreements are created, then a Wisconsin CCW licensee holder may carry in that state. Now that the emergency rules are approved, the DOJ will be able to contact other states regarding reciprocity. As this information is developed, it will be updated on the
    CCW FAQ 10/20/11
    – 11 –
    DOJ website. However, a Wisconsin CCW licensee should always contact the particular state where they wish to carry concealed for information on the laws of that state.”

    So with an Iowa and Utah license, am I able to now carry in WI legally? Seems that the issue may still be a gray area. Appreciate any feedback! Thank you!

    • Legal Heat says:

      Hi JP,
      You perhaps overlooked it. On the Wisconsin DOJ website it says the following:

      In establishing this list, DOJ has tried to be as inclusive as possible and has communicated with officials in every other state to obtain information about their background check laws and policies. This list is current as of 10/26/11:

      Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands

      (See: http://www.doj.state.wi.us/dles/cib/ConcealedCarry/ConcealedCarry.asp). You can carry in WI right now with a Utah or Iowa permit. Good news!

  2. Diane L. Pecha says:

    I applied for a Idaho permit about 9-12-11 they cashed my check & I’m still waiting for the permit.How long does it take?
    My husband just got his Wisc. permit today 11-17-11

  3. Diane L. Pecha says:

    I applied for a Utah permit about 9-12-11 & I’m still waiting for the permit they cashed my check how long does it take ?