Illinois Gets Gunny: An Analysis of The Newest Shall Issue State

Posted: July 10, 2013 in Uncategorized
120403_rahm_emanuel_605_ap

Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel gives an emphatic thumbs up in favor of inalienable rights. We hear he loves guns, his bodyguards all carry them.

As most of you may have heard, yesterday Illinois passed HB 183: Firearm Concealed Carry Act. By doing so Illinois has stepped out of the darkness of oppression and criminal empowerment, and into the beautiful light of freedom and autonomy. Well, not exactly freedom (considering how insanely restrictive the law is), but at least more freedom than our poor Illinois friends have heretofore been accustomed to (for the sake of comparison, I open carried my 9mm onto an elementary school campus in Utah today and no one  batted an eye).  In either regard, we’re happy to welcome Illinois to the world of concealed carry and have compiled a list of FAQ about the new law for your reading pleasure.

WHEN WILL THE ILLINOIS PERMIT BE AVAILABLE?

Good question. The law (HB 183) passed with a supermajority on June 9, 2013.  After a bill passes in IL, the governor has 60 days to sign, veto or return it. Last week Governor Quinn exercised his “amendatory veto” powers to substantially change the bill. The bill was then sent back to the legislature and yesterday they overrode the Governor’s veto and passed the law as originally written.  After the law passed it became effective immediately (July 9, 2013). The state agency in charge of administering the law (Illinois State Patrol) now has 60 days to start certifying instructors and courses. The State Patrol has 180 days from yesterday to make permit applications available, and 90 days to process an application once it is received. The law prohibits advertising any IL classes prior to becoming certified as instructors. Assuming the Illinois State Patrol takes the entire 60 days to certify instructors, it appears Illinois permit classes could begin to be offered around early September. Be EXTREMELY cautious of anyone who claims to be offering Illinois classes prior to that time. Legal Heat will apply to become certified instructors as soon as such application becomes available. As soon as Legal Heat receives approval from the Illinois State Patrol to do so, we will notify everyone and begin offering Illinois permit classes.  

WHAT TRAINING IS REQUIRED TO OBTAIN THE ILLINOIS PERMIT?

The law requires 16 hours of training to obtain the IL permit. The training must be specifically tailored under the law and include at least 30 rounds of live fire. Up to 8 hours of the 16 hour training requirement can be waived if the student has completed an approved prior training course, or if the student is an active, retired, or honorably discharged member of the United States Armed Forces (more on this below). The application fee for the permit will be $150 for IL residents, and $300 for non residents.

WHAT CAN I DO NOW TO GET A HEAD START?

As mentioned above, IL will recognize up to 8 hours of previously obtained training to count towards the 16 hour requirement. Although there are no guarantees on what previous training the state will accept (they are yet to issue any statement on that), there is a possibility they will recognize the training courses for the Utah or Arizona permits that Legal Heat teaches. If they do, you’ll be 4 hours ahead of the game. Even if they don’t, you’ll still be able to carry in over 30 states (including all the states that border Illinois). Besides potentially counting towards the Illinois training requirement, another reason it might be worth obtaining your Utah or Arizona permit is to enable you to carry in more states than the Illinois permit will. Because the Illinois permit is new and because Illinois is not recognizing any other state permits, it is very unlikely the Illinois permit will be valid in a large amount of states. An Illinois and Utah/Arizona combo will enable you to carry in the most states possible.

WILL ILLINOIS RECOGNIZE ANY OTHER STATE PERMITS?

No. Previous versions of the law allowed for reciprocity with other states, but the law that passed does not recognize any other state permits. The only way to carry in Illinois will be by obtaining an Illinois permit. The good news is Illinois is going to allow non-residents to obtain the Illinois permit. The bad news is that you have to meet the same 16 hour training requirements and pay an amplified $300 application fee. Assuming we are approved as Illinois instructors, We will be offering Illinois permit classes nationwide for those interested in obtaining it. These classes will be listed on our website when they become available.

WHERE CAN I GET MORE INFORMATION OR SIGNUP TO RECEIVE NEWS?

If you’d like to stay updated or receive news for the first classes that will be available in Illinois (and surrounding states), please visit http://www.mylegalheat.com to check our class schedule as well as ensuring that you’re signed up for our free newsletter. The Illinois State Patrol has also added a FAQ page to their site. There’s also been a fairly good article written by the Chicago Tribune. Finally, following us on Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram is a fantastic way to stay up to date on these changes as well.

Advertisements
Comments
  1. Jason says:

    Thank you Phil (and Co.) We appreciate all that you do and look forward to having you in Illinois soon.

  2. Mark says:

    S.O.B. $300 ugh …we’ll I travel Illinois weekly from Wisconsin going to need it hope legal heat is my trainer I enjoyed your Wisconsin ,Utah and Arizona class

  3. randy crawford says:

    Would it be possible for you to give a 16-hr “Illinois-legal” class in Davenport, Iowa or Cedar Rapids, Iowa, so that Iowa crossover students don’t have to waste time and money on Illinois motels and restaurants on top of the Illinois $300 state ‘permit’ rip-off? The less people get nickel and dimed the better.

    • LH says:

      Hi Randy, yes! We will be offering these classes in both those locations. We’ll keep you posted.

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. Ken says:

    They are already taking pre-registration for the 16-hour course at some companies, despite not having any criteria really set by ISP yet. Cost=$300! So it will cost Illinois resident’s $450 to CCW! Already have my UT and AZ through Legal Heat. Hope it’s able to defray some of the costs once this get finalized, even though IL won’t recognize them.

    Also, “the Illinois State Rifle Association believes lawmakers did not meet their deadline because the state’s ban on carrying guns outside the home remains in effect.

    While concealed carry is officially the law in Illinois, it could be mid-March before a gun owner would actually and legally be able to carry their weapon in public. The new law gives state police six months to setup a permit system, then there’s a 90-day application process.

    The Rifle Association says that delay continues to deprive lawful gun owners of their constitutional rights.

    Newly filed motions ask the U.S. District Court to allow people to carry by next Tuesday, July 16.”

  5. Jackie says:

    I’d love to see the Illinois class held in Colorado as well. I travel to Illinois a lot and am SO happy to have this passed! Please let me know if You’re planning on doing one here! Thanks for all Your work as well…took a class in Grand Junction this past winter & it was great!

  6. Michael says:

    I checked the ISP web site and it looks like Legal Heat has been approved to teach the class…….Any ideas when you will schedule classes in Illinois?

  7. kyle says:

    Hello Legal Heat. Will you be offering the Illinois class in or around Pennsylvania at some point? I frequently drive across the country and would like to obatin an Illinois permit.

  8. Ken says:

    Kyle – I can’t speak for Legal Heat, but as a resident in this crappy state I have bad news for you.

    At this time, Hawaii residents are the only state that currently qualifies for an out of state resident carry conceal license in Illinois.

    But you may legally carry in Illinois in your vehicle if you are permitted to carry in your state of residence, and you need no permit for non-resident vehicle carry. The usual interstate transportation rules otherwise apply.

    This is listed under Requirements prior to applying for a concealed carry license.

    NON-RESIDENTS

    In accordance with 430 ILCS 66/40 (b), out of state residents may be eligible for an Illinois Concealed carry License if your state meets the definition of substantially similar as established by rule. See 20 Il. Admin. Code 1231.10. Currently, the states identified below have been determined to have laws related to firearm ownership, possession, and carrying that are substantially similar to the requirements to obtain a license under Illinois’ law; and, therefore, may apply for an Concealed Carry License. This list will be updated as additional states are identified as substantially similar. Further Information concerning the regulations for non-resident applications can be found at 20 Il. Admin. Code 1231.110.

    Hawaii is the only reciprocal state at this time.

    It comes back to meeting the mental health background check requirement I believe. There are a few other CCW boards I follow, and the above is taken from there, and has been confirmed via emails with the State Police.